This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. I Agree

Duckworth Makes it a Double at Rally Sunseeker National 2012

February 25, 2012
The Spectators on Rally Sunseeker National 2012 were treated to a great days rallying in the National category on this years event. Last years winners Roger Duckworth / Mark Broomfield in their Intrinsys / Kumho sponsored Subaru Impreza WRC made it two wins in a row at the Bournemouth based event.

Knowing that there would be fierce competition for the win on this years event due to the 1st prize offering of an expenses paid trip to the 2012 Sol Rally Barbados Duckworth started as he meant to go on by setting fastest time on the opening stage of the day – 1.9 seconds ahead of the hard charging Michael O'Brien in his newly acquired Ford Focus 2008 WRC.

Two more stages before the first service halt and the margin between the top two was just 7.5 seconds with Michaels son Dan O'Brien (Ford Focus 2002 WRC) sitting 24 seconds behind and local man Anthony Willmington just 3 seconds further back.

In the next batch of stages Duckworth stamped his authority on the event by taking a further 3 fastest times. O'Brien senior returned to service saying that the harder he tried the slower he was getting which had been compounded by a stall at the start of the Somerley stage. With his lead at 28 seconds Duckworth stated that everything about the car was working well and that his Kumho tyres were perfect for the soft stages.

A further 5 fastest times from Duckworth, including a cautious run on the last stage without lights which was run in near darkness and the winners podium beckoned. At the finish he headed home the Ford Focus WRC of Michael O'Brien Paul Spooner by just over a minute. Michaels son Daniel O'Brien, also in a Ford Focus WRC with Paul Morris alongside made it a family affair by making the podium in 3rd spot 58.4secs ahead of local crew Anthony Wilmington / Andy White in their Mitsubishi EVO6.

1 Roger Duckworth/Mark Broomfield | Subaru Impreza WRC | 0:53:22.7
2 Michael O'Brien/Paul Spooner| Ford Focus WRC | 0:54:35.4
3 Daniel O'Brien/Paul Morris | Ford Focus WRC | 0:56:02.5
4 Anthony Willmington/Andy White | Mitsubishi EVO6 | 0:57:00.9
5 Stuart Larbey/Simon Larbey | MG Metro 6R4 | 1:01:16.2